# PitchBook and Crunchbase API Pricing 2026: Costs, MCP and Alternatives

> PitchBook and Crunchbase sell API access by quote. What their APIs, Preqin, Dealroom, Tracxn and Private Equity List cost, how many requests you get and which connect to Claude and ChatGPT.

Guides · 31 October 2026 · by Giorgio Fenancio · https://privateequitylist.com/intelligence/pitchbook-crunchbase-api-pricing

**Key takeaways**

- **The short answer:** neither PitchBook nor Crunchbase publishes API prices. Both sell API access by quote, on top of or next to their platform licences. Of the five investor data providers below, only Private Equity List lists an API price: $319 a month, billed yearly, on its Pro Max plan.
- **PitchBook:** its Direct Data API and data feeds are priced separately from the platform, by data volume, refresh frequency and technical requirements. The typical platform contract alone is about $31,750 a year.
- **Crunchbase:** the full API is an Enterprise product sold through sales, with a limit of 200 requests a minute per key. Third-party trackers report that new free Basic keys stopped in 2025.
- **AI assistants:** PitchBook connects to Claude and ChatGPT for licensed users. Private Equity List's MCP server works in Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Gemini and Perplexity from the Pro plan at $99 a month, billed yearly.
- **What you get:** one Private Equity List key covers about 8,100 investors, 6,900 funds and investment-team contacts, including 829 funds launched in 2026.

- **$319/mo**: API access, billed yearly (Private Equity List Pro Max)
- **$31,750**: typical PitchBook contract a year (platform only; API priced separately)
- **200/min**: Crunchbase Enterprise API limit (per key, 3 calls at once)
- **8,100+**: investors behind one key (Private Equity List, October 2026)

**What a year of access costs, where a price is known ($)**

| | Value |
|---|---:|
| Private Equity List Pro Max, API included | $3,828 |
| PitchBook platform, typical contract (API extra) | $31,750 |
| Preqin platform, typical contract (API extra) | $49,334 |

Source: Private Equity List pricing page; Vendr via FundedIQ (PitchBook); Vendr (Preqin)

## PitchBook API pricing: Direct Data is quoted on top of the platform

**What it is:** PitchBook sells its data outside the platform as Direct Data, delivered through an API or a scheduled data feed ([Morningstar investor Q&A](https://shareholders.morningstar.com/investor-resources/investor-qa/qa-details/2026/How-is-the-PitchBook-Direct-Data-offering-monetized-Are-users-required-to-be-PitchBook-license-customers-first-2026-YTmObBZUFy/default.aspx), August 2026).\
**How it is priced:** separately from the platform licence, by data volume, refresh frequency and technical specifications. A platform licence is not required, but many Direct Data clients hold one.\
**What the platform costs:** PitchBook does not publish prices. Buyer data puts the typical contract at about $31,750 a year, with deals from $20,000 to $122,500 ([Vendr via FundedIQ](https://fundediq.co/compare/pitchbook-pricing/)). Seat-level prices are in our guide to [PitchBook pricing](https://privateequitylist.com/intelligence/pitchbook-pricing).\
**In AI assistants:** PitchBook brought its data to [Claude in October 2025](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20251028460098/en/PitchBooks-Industry-Leading-Private-Capital-Market-Intelligence-is-Now-Accessible-in-Claude) and to [ChatGPT apps in December 2025](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20251216478652/en/Morningstar-and-PitchBook-Bring-Trusted-Investing-Intelligence-to-Apps-in-ChatGPT/), for entitled or licensed PitchBook users.

## Crunchbase API pricing: Enterprise only, by quote

**Access:** the Crunchbase API is arranged through its sales team. Its documentation does not mention prices ([Crunchbase API docs](https://data.crunchbase.com/docs/using-the-api), updated October 2026).\
**Limits:** each Enterprise key allows 200 requests a minute and 3 requests in progress at once. Your key covers only the fields and collections in your licence.\
**Free tier:** comparison sites report that Crunchbase stopped issuing new free Basic API keys in 2025 ([Multiples](https://multiples.vc/compare/crunchbase-api-alternatives), [DEV Community](https://dev.to/agenthustler/crunchbase-api-in-2026-free-tier-gone-what-startup-data-hunters-do-now-1177)). Check with Crunchbase before you plan around it.\
**Platform plans:** Pro costs $49 a month billed yearly or $99 monthly, and Business starts at about $199 a month ([ZoomInfo](https://pipeline.zoominfo.com/sales/crunchbase-pricing)). These plans are for the website, not the full API.

## Preqin, Dealroom and Tracxn APIs

**Preqin:** its Feeds API delivers core datasets as CSV files at an additional cost, priced by the scope of data and the number of users ([Preqin Feeds API](https://www.preqin.com/our-products/feeds-api)). The platform itself runs at a median of $49,334 a year ([Vendr](https://www.vendr.com/marketplace/preqin)).\
**Dealroom:** the API is an add-on priced by call volume, and MCP access comes with Premium Plus, listed at €325 a seat a month ([Dealroom pricing](https://dealroom.co/pricing)).\
**Tracxn:** sells its Premium plan and data packs through sales and does not publish prices; the free Lite tier is for personal use ([Round Funded](https://www.roundfunded.com/en/alternatives/tracxn)).

## API and MCP compared: what each provider offers

<div class="intel__tablewrap">
<table class="intel__table">
<thead><tr><th>Provider</th><th>Data</th><th>API</th><th>AI assistant (MCP)</th><th>Price</th><th>Contract</th></tr></thead>
<tbody>
<tr><td>Private Equity List</td><td>~8,100 investors, ~6,900 funds, team contacts</td><td>REST: investor search, investor profile, fund search; 2,000 requests a day per key</td><td>Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Gemini, Perplexity, VS Code</td><td>API $319/mo yearly ($399 monthly); MCP from $99/mo yearly</td><td>Monthly or yearly, self-serve</td></tr>
<tr><td>PitchBook</td><td>VC, PE and M&amp;A deals, funds, LPs, companies</td><td>Direct Data: API or scheduled feed</td><td>Claude and ChatGPT for licensed users</td><td>Not published; priced by volume, refresh and specs</td><td>Annual, through sales</td></tr>
<tr><td>Crunchbase</td><td>Companies, funding rounds, investors</td><td>Enterprise REST API, 200 requests a minute</td><td>Not stated in its API docs</td><td>Not published (quote)</td><td>Through sales</td></tr>
<tr><td>Preqin</td><td>Funds, LPs, fund managers, performance</td><td>Feeds API (CSV), OAuth 2.0</td><td>Not stated</td><td>Not published; extra to the platform</td><td>Through sales</td></tr>
<tr><td>Dealroom</td><td>Startups, investors, rounds</td><td>Add-on by call volume</td><td>Premium Plus</td><td>Platform from €250/seat/mo; API not published</td><td>Annual, upfront</td></tr>
<tr><td>Tracxn</td><td>Startups, investors, sectors</td><td>Data packs through sales</td><td>Not stated</td><td>Not published</td><td>Through sales</td></tr>
</tbody>
</table>
</div>

## What an MCP server changes for AI agents

**API:** your code calls fixed endpoints with filters and gets JSON back. It suits pipelines, CRMs and dashboards that run on a schedule.\
**MCP server:** an AI assistant calls the data for you. You ask in plain English, for example «Series A fintech VCs in Europe that write $1–5M cheques», and the assistant picks the filters and returns a table.\
**Why it matters for investor data:** analysts can build a shortlist inside Claude or ChatGPT without exporting files, and an agent can check fresh funds before drafting outreach.\
**What to check:** which clients the server supports, how many records a month your plan returns, and whether contacts come back or only firm names.

## How to choose an investor data API

**You already pay for PitchBook or Preqin:** ask your account manager for the Direct Data or Feeds API quote, and for the AI connector your licence includes.\
**You need company and round data for a product:** Crunchbase Enterprise is built for that; budget for a sales process and a negotiated licence.\
**You need investor lists and contacts in a workflow or an AI assistant:** the [Private Equity List API and MCP server](https://privateequitylist.com/api-mcp) is self-serve, with prices on the [pricing page](https://privateequitylist.com/pricing).\
**You are comparing the platforms themselves:** see the [investor database comparison](https://privateequitylist.com/intelligence/investor-database-comparison), and [PitchBook alternatives](https://privateequitylist.com/comparisons/pitchbook-alternative) and [Crunchbase alternatives](https://privateequitylist.com/comparisons/crunchbase-alternative).

## Data and methodology

**Private Equity List:** prices from privateequitylist.com/pricing, API endpoints and limits from its API documentation, and database totals from the API itself, all as of 31 October 2026.\
**Other providers:** prices and API terms come from each vendor's own pages where they publish them, otherwise from buyer data (Vendr) or third-party reviews, each linked in the text with its date. Where no source gives a price, the table says «not published».\
**Estimates we left out:** comparison sites quote figures such as «$70,000+ a year» for PitchBook API packages without naming a source; they are not used here.

## FAQ

### How much does the PitchBook API cost?

PitchBook does not publish it. Its Direct Data API and data feeds are priced separately from the platform, by data volume, refresh frequency and technical specifications. The platform alone typically costs about $31,750 a year, according to Vendr buyer data.

### How much does the Crunchbase API cost?

Crunchbase sells its full API as an Enterprise product through its sales team and does not publish the price. Each Enterprise key allows 200 requests a minute. The $49-a-month Pro plan is for the website, not the full API.

### Is there a free Crunchbase API?

Comparison sites report that Crunchbase stopped issuing new free Basic API keys in 2025. Check with Crunchbase before you plan around free access.

### Does PitchBook have an MCP server for Claude or ChatGPT?

Yes. PitchBook brought its data to Claude in October 2025 and to ChatGPT apps in December 2025, for entitled or licensed PitchBook users. You need a PitchBook licence to use them.

### What is the cheapest investor data API?

Of the providers that publish prices, Private Equity List's API costs $319 a month billed yearly on Pro Max and covers about 8,100 investors and 6,900 funds. Its MCP server for AI assistants starts on Pro at $99 a month billed yearly.
